Cyprus Elections

Cyprus Elections is the directory for all the information you need for the Elections in Cyprus. The first presidential elections for independent Cyprus took place in 1960 just after the British colonial administration left the Island. Cyprus elects on national level a head of state called the President and a legislature called the Parliament. The election of the President is direct, by universal suffrage and secret ballot. Voting in Cyprus is compulsory and citizens are allowed to vote over the age of 18. The president is elected for a five year term by the people. The election of a new President takes place before the expiration of the five-year period of office of the outgoing President so as to enable the newly elected President to be invested on the date that period expires.

Visit CYPRUSNeT, the Vertical Network Directory of more than 1500 Cyprus Portals.